Welcome to Simple Living Connect!!

10 Aug 2015

The seed of Simple Living was probably sowed years ago when I came across Thoreau’s writing in the film, Dead Poet’s Society.

“I went into the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.”

Henry David Thoreau On Walden Pond

Simple living in the woods, surrounded by nature, and away from the stresses from academic demands and complex interpersonal relationships. WOW!! I was fascinated by the idea. Hmm, probably more driven by a desire to escape from the academic stresses rather than an ability to fully appreciate the meaning and beauty of actual simple living in the woods. Obviously, that (simple living in the woods) remains just a dream as I spend many more years moving through the educational system and working life, as expected in our conventional society.

Fast forward many years, I am revisiting the idea of Simple Living. I have come to the realization that it is NOT EITHER Simple Living OR Conventional Living. It is definitely possible to achieve a fine balance between the two. But the question is, how?

I do not have a model answer to the question. I will seek to share the process of my exploration to work towards Simple Living amidst Conventional Living. You are invited to share your personal experiences as well and begin the connection. Look forward to hearing from you!!

Cheers, SLC

Leave a Reply

